SRNL’s Connie Herman Receives2019 D. T. Rankin Award

August 29, 2019

AIKEN, S.C. – August 29, 2019 – The Savannah River National Laboratory’s (SRNL’s) Connie Herman has been named the 2019 recipient of the D. T. Rankin Award by the Nuclear & Environmental Technology Division of The American Ceramics Society (ACerS). This award recognizes a division member who has demonstrated exemplary service to the division. Ms. Herman will be formally presented the award in the Division Business Meeting during the ACerS Annual Meeting September 29-October 3 in Portland, Oregon. 

Herman is currently the Associate Laboratory Director of SRNL’s Environmental Stewardship Directorate, which provides strategies and technologies for remediation of former nuclear weapons sites. This Directorate addresses one of the primary missions of the Laboratory, managed by the Department of Energy’s Environmental Management Division. 

“Connie has expertly overseen one of our primary mission areas at the lab,” said Laboratory Director Vahid Majidi. “The award is deserved recognition of the hard work and commitment that we have all seen in her tenure here at SRNL.” 

Herman has been with SRNL for 28 years and engaged primarily in the development and deployment of technologies and processes for stabilization of nuclear waste. She is a Fellow of ACerS, has held several leadership positions in the Nuclear & Environmental Technology Division, and is a past chair of the Fellows Committee for the Society. 

The award’s namesake, Tom Rankin, a distinguished SRNL employee, served as chairman of the ACerS Nuclear & Environmental Technology Division. 

Since the establishment of the D. T. Rankin Award in 2001, six other division members from SRNL have been recipients: Carol Jantzen (2003), George Wicks, (2009), John Marra (2011), Dennis Bickford (2012), James Marra (2014) and Alex Cozzi (2017). 


Media contact: SRNL Media Relations