Paul Korinko Receives Savannah River National Laboratory Donald A. Orth Lifetime Award of Merit

October 26, 2023

AIKEN, S.C. (Oct. 26, 2023) – Savannah River National Laboratory (SRNL) selected Paul Korinko as the recipient of its 2023 Donald Orth Lifetime Achievement Award, the highest honor given by the laboratory, for demonstrating technical excellence and leadership in his service to SRNL, the Savannah River site and the U.S. Department of Energy.

Korinko’s expertise in materials and physical metallurgy is internationally recognized as making significant impacts in welding/joining, permeation and advanced manufacturing (AM). Korinko has seven patents, was published 57 times, has authored numerous technical reports and presentations, and is an ASM International Fellow.  His other awards include the A. F. Davis Silver Medal (American Welding Society, 2012), a Defense Programs Award of Excellence (2006), and 10 previous SRNL Director’s Awards. In the past few years, Korinko has applied his physical metallurgy knowledge to the plutonium mission in addition to continuing his lead roles in welding/joining, permeation, and AM in support of the tritium mission. 

Korinko was presented the award during a recognition event held Wednesday evening in the Aiken Center for the Arts.

Savannah River National Laboratory also recognized other high performing employees through 10 other Laboratory Director’s Award categories. Those awards and their recipients include:

Director’s Award for Exceptional Scientific and Engineering Achievement

  • Maria Morales-Arteaga, Environmental & Legacy Management
  • Hansell Gonzalez-Raymat, Environmental & Legacy Management
  • Donald Benza, Weapons Production Technology
  • Pavan Shukla, Environmental & Legacy Management
  • Hector Colon-Mercado, Weapons Production Technology

Director’s Award for Early Career Exceptional Achievement 

  • Dylan Padgett, Global Security
  • Bryan Foley, Environmental & Legacy Management
  • Camden Chatham, Weapons Production Technology
  • Tyler Guin, Weapons Production Technology
  • William R. Johnson, Global Security
  • Will Jolin, Environmental & Legacy Management
  • Derek Geiken, Operations & Facilities
  • Arelis Rivera-Giboyeaux, Global Security
  • George Larsen, Weapons Production Technology

 Director’s Award for Safety/Operational Excellence 

  • Larry Powell, Weapons Production Technology
  • Virginia Almond, Environmental, Safety, Health & Quality Assurance
  • Kerry Layton, Environmental, Safety, Health & Quality Assurance

Director’s Core Values Award Integrity 

  • Natalie Logue, Innovation & University Engagement
  • Stephen Hardee, Weapons Production Technology

Director’s Core Values Award Innovation 

  • Meagan Kinard, Communications
  • Vincent DiNova, Weapons Production Technology
  • Holly Flynn, Weapons Production Technology

Director’s Core Values Award Teamwork 

  • Deep Bed Sand Filter Team: Vernon Bush, Geoff Fravor, Michael Restivo, David Missimer, Doug Melton (retired), Nathan Wyeth, Grant Pollard, Michael Torcivia, Ian Rebuck, Katherine Broadwater, Morgan Cram, Brian McElwain, Will Baggett, Charles McKeel and Tyler Ellis
  • Cyber Operations Team: Brenda Berry, Cory Herbst, Alberto Ramirez, Ty’Rez Gunter, Daniel Wilson, Matthew Russell, Derron Judd
  • ALTEMIS Team: Carol Eddy-Dilek, Hansell Gonzalez-Raymat, Holly VerMeulen, Thomas Danielson, Richard Walker, Austin Coleman, Scott McDonald, and Emily Fabricatore
  • ALTNAV Team: Robert Breazeale, Connor Coughlin, Jason Fruchtl, Eric Kriikku, Davis Shull, David Weir

Director’s Core Values Award Service 

  • Patrick Folk, Weapons Production Technology
  • Rachel Jones, Global Security
  • Kathryn Taylor-Pashow, Environmental & Legacy Management

Director’s Award for Organizational Impact  

  • Kalyn Loudermilk, Environmental & Legacy Management
  • Tyler Chavous, Environmental & Legacy Management
  • Clint Smith, Operations & Facilities

Director’s Award for Program/Project Leadership 

  • Vivian Holloway, Innovation & University Engagement
  • Nicholas DeRoller, Global Security
  • Maria Kriz, Weapons Production Technology

Director’s Award for Mentoring 

  • Topher Berry, Global Security
  • Mike Restivo, Environmental & Legacy Management
  • Joseph Mannion, Global Security
  • Denise (Dee) Wheeler, Operations & Facilities

“Our people, their expertise and dedication to operational excellence make SRNL a premiere national laboratory and leader in nuclear science, research and engineering,” said Laboratory Director Vahid Majidi.  “Our people make the difference in our continuous journey of putting science to work in protecting our environment, serving our national defense and securing our cleaning energy future.”

Savannah River National Laboratory is a United States Department of Energy multi-program research and development center that’s managed and operated by Battelle Savannah River Alliance, LLC (BSRA) for the Department of Energy’s Office of Environmental Management. SRNL puts science to work to protect the nation by providing practical, cost-effective solutions to the nation’s environmental, nuclear security, nuclear materials management, and energy manufacturing challenges (

2023 SRNL Don Orth Lifetime Achievement Award Winner Paul Korinko.

Media contact: SRNL Media Relations