SRNL Names Carol Kestin as 2022 Don Orth Award Recipient; Other Laboratory Director’s Award Winners Announced

October 24, 2022

Aiken, S.C. – Savannah River National Laboratory (SRNL) selected Carol Kestin as the recipient of the laboratory’s 2022 Donald Orth Lifetime Achievement Award, the highest honor given by the laboratory for technical excellence and leadership.

Kestin began her career at SRNL in 1990 and currently serves as an advisory engineer in the Weapons Production Technology Directorate. Her expertise in materials readiness performance evaluations in weapons and gas transfer systems through materials/metallurgical characterizations is an invaluable asset to the SRNL Materials Test Facility. Kestin also serves as the SRNL ambassador to the National Nuclear Security Administration (NNSA) Nuclear Weapons Complex Surveillance Program.

“I am honored to be included with the talented individuals who have received the Donald Orth Award in the past,” said Kestin. “I am truly humbled to be recognized in this manner. To me, this award is a commendation to all the people I have worked with over the years. My achievements would not be possible without the remarkable team members I have worked with at SRNL, the Tritium Facilities, the Design Agencies, and NNSA.”

Established in 1993, the award was named for the late Dr. Donald Orth, who retired from SRNL in 1992 after a distinguished 41-year career. The award was established to honor an individual “who by character and leadership best exemplifies Dr. Orth’s character and contributions.”

Other 2022 Laboratory Director’s Award winners include:

Director’s Award for Exceptional Scientific and Engineering Achievement

• Jay Gaillard, Environmental & Legacy Management (E&LM)
• Dan Krementz, Weapons Production Technology (WPT)
• Chris Martino, E&LM
• Cory Trivelpiece, E&LM
• Tom Danielson, E&LM

Director’s Award for Early Career Exceptional Achievement

• Aaron Baldwin, Global Security (GS)
• Kyle Green, GS
• Corey Hopper, WPT
• Rachel Jones, GS
• Khai Nguyen, WPT
• Binod Rai, E&LM
• Spencer Scott, E&LM
• Holly VerMeulen, E&LM

Director’s Award for Safety/Operational Excellence

• Phillip Conway, Operations & Facilities (O&F)
• Bridget Miller, E&LM

Director’s Award for Core Values

• Ceci Diprete, WPT
• Stephanie Jacobs, E&LM
• George Larsen, WPT
• Patrick Ward, E&LM
• Andy Farmer (WPT), Rebecca Thomas (WPT), Megan Bartasis (WPT), Joe Cordaro (GS), John McIntosh (WPT), Andy Kruzner (GS)
• Dylan Padgett (GS), Jeff DeGange (GS), Mark Hudson (GS), Chuck Gardner (GS), Tim Riley (GS), Kevin Huffman (GS), David Martinez (GS), Tony Trevino (GS), Randy Achey (GS), Jake Reagin (GS), Doug Hunter (GS)
• Kim Crapse (E&LM), Matthew Williams(E&LM), John Pareizs (E&LM), Michael Restivo (E&LM), Michelle Edwards (O&F), Raenan Stanley (O&F), Phyllis Burkhalter (O&F), Heather Burns, Environment, Safety, Health and Quality (ESH&Q)
• Deno Karapatakis, Computing Operations (CO), David Skeen (CO), Todd Campbell (CO), Ezra Perry (CO), Joseph Wahman (CO), Jonathon Baker (GS), Patricia Lee, Science and Technology, Lindsay Roy (GS)
• Chris Bannochie, E&LM
• Tam Truong, E&LM

Director’s Award for Organizational Impact

• Catherine Ramsey, E&LM

Director’s Award for Program/Project Leadership

• Robert Allgood, WPT
• Devon McClane, WPT

Director’s Award for Mentoring

• Francis Bauer III, ESH&Q
• Annamarie MacMurray, WPT

“We are fortunate so many talented and unique individuals come together to make SRNL the premiere national laboratory it is today,” said Laboratory Director Vahid Majidi. “Our people make the difference in our continuous journey of exceptional scientific research and discovery.”

Laboratory Director’s Award winners were recognized recently during an evening reception at the Aiken Center for the Arts.

Savannah River National Laboratory (SRNL) is a United States Department of Energy multi-program research and development center that puts science to work to protect the nation by providing practical, cost-effective solutions to the nation’s environmental, nuclear security, nuclear materials management, and energy manufacturing challenges (

carol kestin headshot

2022 SRNL Don Orth Lifetime Achievement Award Winner Carol Kestin

Media contact: SRNL Media Relations